Tags

, ,

This is my first blog post on this blog.  I have attempted to blog before, but I always begin to feel somewhat self-conscious and delete the whole thing.  I am a very private person and the idea of the whole world having access to my secret thoughts and feelings is just frightening.

In the past year or so I have begun to read blogs by people with diabetes.  I began doing this in part as a way to see how other people deal with the day to day struggles of this condition (I prefer not to think of it as a disease because diseases can be cured while there appears to be no cure for this condition on the horizon).  I didn’t think there would be much out there.  Boy, was I surprised!  The way some of these PWDs share their lives so openly is not only inspiring, but it continuously underscores the fact that we are not alone.  No matter how isolated we might feel, reading these blogs on the Internet is a daily reminder that there are others out there who also deal quarterly with doctors who do not fully understand what day to day life is like for PWDs, who have family members who are often too confused and wrapped up in their own stuff to offer much support, or who have also found support on the Internet that inspires them to keep working at it each day.

Diabetes is a difficult and time consuming condition to have to deal with.  Often people who do not have this condition or who have never known anyone with this condition will make assumptions that are just not fair.  I once had an intern at my doctor’s office roll her eyes when I said I was trying to lower my carbs and was eating about a hundred a day.  I so badly wanted to ask her if she had ever tried to count the carbs in a single meal.  So many people don’t realize just how many carbs they are eating in a single meal.  Anyone could easily surpass one hundred carbs in a single meal by having regular soda or adding a few pieces of bread to a meal of meat and potatoes.  It is not an easy task.

Diabetes is hard work.  It is constant.  You check your blood sugar when you wake, before you eat, before you exercise, before you drive, before just about anything you might do. You have to calculate your carbs, take your medications, calculate insulin doses.  It is frustrating, confusing, depressing, and occasionally triumphant.

Diabetes is why I write.

