I had been thinking about beginning a blog for months to have a place to write out my frustrations with the daily struggle of living with this condition, diabetes.  But I was inspired to do it yesterday because I was reading another diabetes blog and learned WEGO Health was sponsoring Health Activists Writers Month Challenge with thirty prompts for thirty days.  I thought that would be a great way to get started.  This is in response to the second prompt.

Five Things You Should Know About My Diabetes

1. Just because I am obese and have struggled with my weight all my life does not mean that I caused myself to develop this condition.  No one fully understands the causes of diabetes.  Many thin people who have been thin all their lives and eaten well develop the same type of diabetes I have.  On the reverse, many type one’s who developed diabetes as children or adults are obese.  This condition does not discriminate.

2. Diabetes is a condition of isolation.  Many people struggle for years to find the support they need from other PWDs.  Placing these patients into categories, such as insisting that type 1s are very different from type 2s and have a different set of challenges is not always true and it can be harmful for people like me who do not fit into one category.  We all struggle.  Don’t judge me because I don’t choose to follow Dr. Bernstein or because I use insulin to control my numbers.

3. Uncontrolled diabetes is not the only factor that can lead to diabetes complications.  As no one understands completely why diabetes happens, there are also some grey areas in the development of complications.  Do not assume that because I have some of these complications that it is because I do not spend as much time as any other PWD trying to control my numbers.  Diabetes is a crap shoot under the best circumstances.  Anyone with this condition can attest to that.

4. Do not assume that because my posts here will concentrate on diabetes that diabetes is all that I ever think about.  Just like you, I have a full life that is filled with the stresses of job, family, and community.  Diabetes is just a part of that.

5. Do not assume that my diabetes is a personal thing and you should not ask me questions.  This condition is isolating enough by forcing me to do things that others do not.  I want to talk about this condition, I want to have someone who understands listen to my frustrations and triumphs.  I want to know I am not alone in this struggle.

Okay, there they are, for better or for worse. 

 

