Tags

, ,

I have kind of fallen behind on my #HAWMC prompts.  So i thought I would kind of group what I have missed in one post:

#5 – Aspirations as a Health Activist.

Well, I don’t really think of myself as a health activist, so I think I will instead direct you to http://www.StickWithItSugar.com because I think her ideas of putting posters in all doctor’s offices showing the symptoms of the onset of Type 1 is brilliant.

#6. Letters:  Write a letter to your older self.

 I think this is interesting, but might be more productive if the letter were written to my younger self, maybe at diagnosis.  There are so many things I would tell my younger self.  I would say, don’t be afraid of insulin, don’t stop taking Metformin when it begins to work–that’s kind of the point, and I would give myself a little pep talk, assure myself that although it feels so isolating, there are other people out there who struggle with the same issues even if they are coming from a different point of view.  I would tell myself to go find the diabetes online community sooner….

#7 Sensationalize–What is the most ridiculous thing you have ever heard about diabetes?

To be honest?  That low carb is the only way for type 2’s to control their numbers.  That all type 2s are fat and deserve what they got.  That type 2s only make things harder for type 1s who came by their condition honestly.  That type 2s never end up on insulin. 

#8 If your condition were an animal, what would it be? 

I think mine would be a chihuahua.  You know, the kind of dog that is always yapping around your ankles, trying to be tough but too small to do much more than scrap at the surface.  Those dogs seem to always be around, to always be barking, never doing what you tell them.  That’s my diabetes, always there, always annoying, and never doing what it should.

