Tags

, ,

I was reading an article this morning about leaky liver and how metformin could help if administered properly.  This article suggests that some people with Type 2 have a problem with their liver that causes it to constantly release sugar into the blood stream even when insulin is present and sugars are already high.  To counterbalance this, a patient known to the writer began experimenting with his metformin doses.  This man discovered that if he took metformin at ten and midnight he would wake with normal blood sugars.

Now, I’m all for normal blood sugars.  Waking to a high can really be frustrating and sometimes it can screw with a whole day’s sugars.  But so can lack of sleep…so can stress..so can a million different things.

Maybe it is the side of me that needs at least eight hours of uninterrupted sleep a night to function, but I found myself wondering what if this man had to get up at six for an early meeting or something?  Would he really want to get up at midnight just to take a pill?  Sure, he could put the pill next to his bed and just roll over, pop the pill, and go back to sleep.  But he still has to be woken up, he still has to be conscious enough to take the pill and not a piece of fuzz or whatever might be on his nightstand….I don’t know about you, but once I am conscious enough to think clearly, I often struggle to shut my head off and go back to sleep.

I have read so many message board posts from people who panic when they have a number that is slightly elevated.  Some people will eat the same meal at the same time of day for weeks and become overwhelmingly frustrated when their numbers are not the same each time.  I’ve seen questions from people who want to know if they will die because they woke up to a blood sugar of 165…if that were the case, I would have died years ago.  It is obsession over something that is harder to control the more you try.

So this leads to the question of the day: Where is that line between being a person living with diabetes and being a person whose life is controlled by diabetes?

The #HAWMC prompt for today is caregivers.  What would I tell a caregiver about my diabetes?

I would tell a caregiver that it is important to keep blood sugars as close to normal as possible.  However, if keeping blood sugars within a normal range turns into obsession, that is not healthy, either.  You have to find that line and keep from crossing it, even if it means having a high sugar once in a while.

