Tags

, ,

I haven’t done well keeping up with the #HAWMC prompts.  I guess part of the problem is that some of them do not appeal to me or just seem too repetitive of earlier prompts.  Though the one for Saturday, Burnout, is one that speaks very much to me.

Diabetes is a constant.  You cannot stop worrying about what you eat, how much you exercise, or whether you remembered to take your insulin.  It is like caring for an infant that is never satisfied, that never stops crying or needing that next feeding, that next diaper change.  It will not give you a break, even in the middle of the night.  And no matter how much attention you pay to it, sometimes it just will not respond the way you expect.

I suffer from burnout regularly.

Burnout is those days when you just really cannot make yourself care what the meter says.  It is those days when you only check your sugars when you know it is most critical, like before bed or before driving your children to school.  Burnout is when you want to cry when you sit down to a lovely meal because you realize that you haven’t bolused for it and cannot start to eat with everyone else.  It is those days when you feel the stares in a restaurant, real or imagined, and are just tired of being different from everyone else.

I know burnout.  I’m sure you do too.

