Tags

, ,

#HAWMC post for today is technology.

I have already talked about my pump on this blog.  I’ve had it for a little more than two months now.  The experience has been an adventure.

The first few days, the biggest thing to get used to about wearing a pump is sleeping with it on.  I worried a lot about this when I first began researching the possibility of getting a pump.  Being tethered to something day and night is not a new concept to me since I am a mother (ha,ha), but the idea of sleeping with it on had been a big concern.  I am not a calm sleeper, I tend to roll over quite frequently, kick the blankets onto the floor, and generally become rather active.  And I share my bed with my husband.  Most of the videos and blogs available from people who wear a pump rarely mention what it is like to share a bed with another person while wearing a pump.  I had nightmares of my husband accidentally ripping the infusion set out during the night.  I still worry about it sometimes.

However, on the first night with my new pump, I clipped the pump to the neckline of my nightgown and tucked all the tubing underneath.  It worked well.  The only time it is really a problem is when I lay on my stomach.  I have a good deal of padding on top, but the pump still gets pressed in against my breastbone from time to time.

The best part of the pump, I think, is that it keeps track of things I never even thought about before I had it.  Now I can see at the touch of a few buttons how much insulin I have used in one day, what it was used for, and what the ratio is between basal and bolus insulin.  These are all things I had never really thought much about before, but knowing these things can be a really good tool for controlling this condition.

The worst part of the pump is the constant attention it requires.  With needles, I only had to think about insulin at meal time and bedtime.  But now, it is right there constantly, so there is no excuse not to bolus for the odd snack, for that taste of cake batter, for the small highs that never seemed worth the use of a syringe.

My diabetes is better controlled now than it ever has been before.  Still not perfect numbers, but getting better all the time.

I think I would be lost without my pump.

Now I just wish they would make an android version of all the wonderful  (and some not so wonderful) apps they have for the iPhone.  Wouldn’t it be great if we could all check our blood sugar on our phones??

