Tags

, , ,

This is totally off topic, but diabetes can’t be the center of all things.

This weekend was my eldest child’s twenty-third birthday, my youngest son’s sixth birthday, my son’s graduation from college, and mother’s day.  It seemed like the perfect time to celebrate, so we had a nice party in our backyard.

This has been a difficult year.  My eldest son has struggled incredibly this past year.  While going to school full time and holding down a full time job, he was struggling with MDS, the same illness that Robin Roberts has so publicly struggled with.  Unlike Ms. Roberts, my son’s illness was ideopathic…meaning, we have no idea where he got it or why.  Just two months ago he got a clean bill of health (thank God!) and promptly had a car accident that could have had devastating consequences.  I cannot begin to describe how grateful I am that it didn’t.

Things are looking up for my son now.  He just graduated from college (though he was unable to walk the stage because of a snafu at his previous school) and is engaged to be married.  Friday was his birthday.

When I struggle with my diabetes, I think sometimes how lucky I am compared to others.  My son, for example, suffered with severe nausea and exhaustion during his chemo treatments.  The fear of his illness progressing to leukemia was a daily fear.  It really puts things in perspective, making the wearing of a pump and daily checking of blood sugar seem almost minor in comparison.  

Then there is my six year old.  Simple things make him so happy, like receiving a motorized truck for his birthday, or simply spending the day with his older brothers and sister.    Going to see Iron Man 3 was the icing on the cake–he was especially thrilled with the part toward the end when Iron Man pulls a Wolverine and cuts off the hand of his opponent.

Life is hard.  On this Mother’s Day, I realized my children have taught me more than I will ever teach them.  My eldest son has shown me that illness can be faced with stoicism and grace.  My youngest son has shown me that every day is an opportunity for new experiences.

So, thanks to my children, I face the uncertain future – a life with diabetes, the possibility of complications, and the more immediate concerns of the school district buying our home – with hope and grace.

