Tags

, ,

It’s funny the things you notice about the way your body moves when you have a small tube attached to you twenty-four hours a day.

Being on an insulin pump makes me so much more aware of my body than I ever wanted to be.  For example, I have discovered that certain areas of my belly tend to fold over when I sit and therefore are not a good place to stick a 9 mm cannula.  But other parts of my belly are perfect except when I have to use the bathroom and discover the tubing is in the way of moving clothing or my ability to see to my personal hygiene. 

I have also noticed that carrying around a few extra pounds tends to be more of a blessing with an insulin pump than a sin.  They warn you that when an infusion set is placed in the thigh or certain parts of the upper arm the absorption rate might differ, especially when exercising.  I have discovered this is not true for me.  The absorption rate seems to be exactly the same in my arms and legs as my belly, even with exercise.  I put this down to the extra padding of fat in those areas that other diabetics on a pump might not have.

So, for all those diabetics out there who have a little extra padding and are worried that an insulin pump will not work for them, as I once feared, don’t worry.  Insulin is designed to be injected into fat, so this might be the one time being overweight is a good thing with diabetes!

