Tags

,

I haven’t posted here in a while.  Things have been so crazy in my life lately that diabetes has kind of taken a back seat.  But somehow it never really remains there.  It is always making itself known in a high blood sugar, a low, or a failed infusion set.

I was going to write a post about stereotypes, one about failed infusion sets (I have had three in the past week) and one about diabetes and the holidays.  I might still write those at some point.  However, that’s not what this post is about.

There is a new Tumbler page that allows those with diabetes to express themselves in regards to their diabetes.  This site is designed to help PWDs with the emotional side of diabetes, not the medical side. On this site, many people have talked about their frustrations with day to day living with diabetes as well as the way they are treated publicly and by their family and friends. (One comment I saw posted elsewhere expressed reluctance of a PWD to admit his/her diabetes is type 2 because of stereotypes).  It is a wonderful site that everyone with diabetes should check out.  It’s called ‘My Diabetes Secret’ and it was begun by Christopher at A Consequence of Hypoglycemia.

Christopher recently posted a response on his blog to some naysayers who say that this site is not only useless, it is harmful.  Christopher’s response was that he wished it was not needed, but it is. 

I have not gone to this site as of yet.  However, I have seen some of the comments posted elsewhere.

Diabetes is a lonely process.  The PWD must not only deal with the day to day frustrations of a condition that is not always stable or predictable, but also with social and private judgments by people who do not live with this condition and do not fully understand how such a condition can impact all aspects of a person’s life.  Personally, on a daily basis I deal with blood sugars that do not respond the same today as they did yesterday.  I also deal with my child coming home from school after a biology teacher told her that type 2 diabetes is caused solely by lifestyle choices.  I get looks in the stores when I wear my pump in a visible place.  I don’t get as many questions as other PWDs, but I get the looks and the rolling eyes from those who think my weight explains my problems. 

It is comforting to know I have the option of visiting such a site, that there is an outlet where other people understand my frustrations, my fears, and my concerns.  Why would some naysayer want to take that away from me and others like me?

To those naysayers:  As Christopher says, Your diabetes may differ.  Yours may be easier to deal with than mine.  You may have family member who are more supportive than mine.  You may have found acceptance in your community.  How wonderful for you.  But don’t rain on my parade. 

I, and other PWDs like me, need a place where we can post our frustrations or simply read those of others and understand that there are others who feel the same.  Diabetes is a lonely life and sometimes we need to lean on one another and remember:

We are not alone.

