Tags

, ,

Do you ever feel guilty for not being a part of something bigger than yourself?

I read all these diabetes blogs.  These people are really out there, trying to make a difference.  They not only share their stories, but they promote other people’s stories and encourage fund raising, research, and just simply try to make a better world for everyone.

I whine about how hard life is.

In reality, diabetes has taken a back seat in my life recently.  With the move, the new house, and all the changes that have rocked our world lately, it has been hard to focus on anything else.  I know I need to take care of myself.  I know I need to be here for when my grandchild (which is due in September – yeah!) is born, but it is so difficult to care about blood sugar numbers when all I’m thinking about is how expensive the test strip is, how much my insurance deductible is, and where I’m going to get the money to feed my family next week.

How do people do this?  How do people balance not only a life changing health condition, but a family, career, finances, and be advocates for others?

I think they’re all saints.

I will never be a saint.

