Tags

, , ,

Do you ever wonder where you fit in in the diabetes community?

I was reading a post on another blog about the TCOYD conference that took place this past weekend.  On the post is this sign that says: Reserved for Type 1.

I’m a Type 2.  I’m overweight. I have insulin resistance. These are the only things that put me in this particular pigeon hole.  Otherwise, my diabetes is more like a Type 1.  I am a pump wearer. I have the same low and high blood sugar issues as any Type 1.  I have the same possibility of suffering complications as a Type 1.  Yet, I’m not part of the club.

It’s like being in high school again and being on the outside of the ‘cool’ group.  Not that any of us particularly want to be in this group and I wish none of us were.

No matter how much lip service people in the diabetes community give to a sense of unity, to the idea that we all have diabetes, therefore we are all in the same boat, there is still a division.  Type 1s still see themselves as unwitting victims in a cosmic game of chance while Type 2s somehow brought this thing down on their own heads.  Yet, my pancreas is just as broken as any Type 1 out there.  (I have a blood test to prove it.)

Okay, so I’m not perfect.  I didn’t eat well before my diagnosis, and I still have moments of weakness.  Contrary to popular belief, however, I don’t sit around and eat donuts and pie all day long.  Just the idea makes my stomach turn.  I don’t even eat that much in the way of pastries and desserts anymore.  Even simple fats like butter on my toast set off stomach issues for me, so I don’t even do that any more.  It doesn’t matter.  I still weigh more than I should. 

I know that my weight issues are not all genetic (despite the fact that my parents and three of my four brothers are either now, or have been, extremely overweight and none have blood sugar issues).  I know I have some responsibility in the development of this condition.  But I’m not lazy or slovenly.  I’m not stupid.  I’m not a criminal

So don’t make me feel like one.

