Tags

, , ,

Okay, back to normal…..I found this in a post on a message board:

He says though, proudly, I stick to the diabetes diet most of the time though. So I say well what have you been eating? He says a bowl of cheerios with milk for breakfast today, he’s going to have some rice for lunch, he also eats plenty of potatoes and pasta, lots of whole grain breads, lots of fruit, all the good things that they told him to eat at the clinic. So he is telling me this and my jaw is dropping further and further. I guess the only thing off limits is the candy, you can eat all you want of this other stuff as it’s healthy.

So this is a guy who I want to see off the insulin and med free for sure. He had a kidney transplant and I guess his blood sugar was so bad he said he was in the hospital for quite a while and on tons of insulin. Don’t know how he can eat all this stuff on 10 units a day though. I told him any of this stuff would put me way up there and he doesn’t understand, this is just normal food why couldn’t a diabetic eat it? Craziness

It drives me crazy!

Early in the post, the writer admits that the man he is talking to has great control of his blood sugars. His numbers are exactly where they should be, which is why the clinic he goes to is considering taking him off the insulin all together. So tell me, what is this man doing wrong?

Why is it that most type 2s, and a few type 1s, think that everyone should be eating low carb? If this is the miracle everyone thinks it is, then why did a recent study say that, after following people on low carb, high protein diets and people on a balanced diet of fruits and vegetables for eighteen years, the people on the low carb diet tended to die earlier than the people on the more balanced diet?

Low carb diets are great, for those who can stand to eat nothing but steaks, bacon, and salad all day long. They do tend to control blood sugars better because it takes longer for protein to raise blood sugars than simple carbs. However, that could also make it a little more difficult to predict rises in blood sugar in the hours after the meal.

Here’s my problem. It’s not as much the carbs themselves as it is the things added to them. There are so many sugars and corn syrup and who knows added to processed foods that most people don’t even know what they are eating. But what’s wrong with eating an apple? Or a peach? Or sprinkling some berries on a bowl of homemade oatmeal.

We, as diabetics, have to take responsibility for what goes into our mouths because the consequences of that bite a week, a month, a year, or several years down the road might be catastrophic. But that doesn’t mean we have to eat the way that someone else chooses to eat. And it doesn’t mean we should be made to feel guilty for not eating that way.

I choose not to eat low carb. My body can no longer process large amounts of fat and protein. Does that make me a bad diabetic? Does that mean that I am more likely to suffer complications?

There are so many things I feel guilty and ashamed about that are directly related to my diabetes. Making the conscious choice not to eat low carb is not one of them.

To each their own means make your own choices.  But don’t force them on others.

