Do you ever find yourself staring at the daily totals on your pump and wonder why you used that much insulin? Or why the numbers differ so much from day to day? Or try to remember why you used so much less on one day, but so much more on another?

I’ll be the first to admit that I am not always great with record keeping. I haven’t downloaded my pump to the software since we moved…eight, no, nine months ago. I haven’t downloaded my meter but once since moving here. I tend to live in the moment, only taking note of my numbers when I need them. Such as the number on my meter before meals or when I have a high or a low.

I’m not a perfect diabetic. But I’m trying to be a responsible diabetic.

My numbers have been good throughout the move and all the stress. That surprises me some, but I put most of the credit on my pump. It’s probably the best thing I could have done for control.

But, as those of you who read this blog regularly know, I have had stomach issues for a little more than a year now. My doctor initially told me it was likely gastroparesis. I suppose that is still a possibility, but my symptoms don’t really fit. I also considered that it might be side effects of the use of Metformin, but I had been on Met for more than a year when it began, so that makes me wonder if maybe it might be something else. That, and the fact that I lowered my dosage and my symptoms did not change.

With diabetes, there are so many things that could cause the kind of stomach trouble I have been struggling with. It could also be something totally unrelated to diabetes. Only going to the doctor will result in a clear diagnosis. And I plan to do that, soon. But, in the meantime, the best way to deal with things is through diet.

Since my pregnancy seven years ago, my diet has consisted mostly of…whatever. I count my carbs, but I don’t really restrict any one thing. We still eat steak and potatoes (when we can afford them), we eat pastas, rice, beans, crackers and soups. There’s also the occasional pizza.

I have a particularly bad sweet tooth. Sometimes, when the nausea is really bad, the only thing I can eat is Twizzlers and Sour Patch Kids. I know…that’s not the best diet for a diabetic.

Like I said, I’m not perfect. In fact, I’m probably the personification of the stereotype we’re all trying to eradicate right now…

I have dieted many, many times in the past. I was huge on the Atkin’s bandwagon ten years ago, right after I was first diagnosed with diabetes. But I am probably the only person in the world who gained weight on that diet. And I’ve tried other things, such as carb counting, the exchange diet, the carb lover’s diet, Weight Watchers…ect, ect. If there is a diet craze out there, as I’ve said before, I’ve probably tried it.

I swore the last time I was done dieting. I am a strong believer in the ideas of equality and self love. I am not unhappy in my body. I don’t feel the need (anymore) to be skinny and perfect like the women you see in magazines and on television. I like who I am and how I look (most of the time–again, no one is truly perfect).

But with my stomach issues and other things related to my diabetes care, I have decided that attempting a vegan diet has more benefits than just the dreams of weight loss. The reduction in dietary fat would likely be beneficial to my stomach issues since it appears that high fat meals are what set it off most of the time.

The diet offers a large variety of fruit, the one thing most diabetic diets restrict and the only truly healthy food that I really like to eat. I’m not big on vegetables. I like salads, but only if it contains specific vegetables. And I’m not huge on cooked vegetables, unless they are cooked properly, not soggy and limp like the vegetables my mother made when I was a kid. I like steak, but I’ve grown intolerant to most other types of meat since this stomach issue began to rear its ugly head. So, cutting out meat probably won’t be a problem. My only real issue is the lack of dairy. I like the occasional glass of milk and love cheese.

I worry, a little, about cutting out one complete food group. As I said once before, I think diets that do that are too restrictive and hard to stick with long term. But there are thousands of vegans and even more vegetarians in the world, so maybe its not as hard as it might seem at this moment.

I want to fix my stomach issues. I want to have more energy. I want to get my numbers to an even better place. And the idea that a vegan diet can help reduce insulin resistance sounds really good not only to my pocket book, but my dwindling supply of infusion sets.

My history on restrictive diets is not good. So, I will keep you up on my progress once I begin this Monday. But don’t be surprised if it only lasts a week or so.

I hope it lasts longer. I hope it fixes some of my problems. And I hope I win the lottery next week.

Chances seem about equal, don’t you think?

