So, yesterday was the first full day of the vegan diet.

Most diets begin with a terrible sense of deprivation and hunger. I always feel like I’m being punished for something when I begin a diet. This time it wasn’t that bad. I was eating things that I usually eat, anyway. The only difference was the lack of meat and cheese. Didn’t miss the meat so much–except when my husband made chicken fajitas for his dinner, that was a little tough–but the cheese was difficult. I ate my salad at lunch and enjoyed the taste of the raw vegetables without the saltiness of the shredded cheese, but it was still different. Will take some getting used to.

Today was good, too. In fact, it was kind of a relief to miss out on the chicken patties my husband made for his lunch. Those almost always set off my stomach issues and leave me feeling heavy and sleepy. So I was happy to miss out on that.

It’s never easy to start a new way of eating. But I have to admit that my stomach issues have been better already. But I’m not calling myself cured. My issues tend to come and go with unpredictable frequency, so I could simply be in one of those odd lulls. I’ll give it a few weeks and see where it is then.

My numbers were good yesterday. Hard to tell today. I was at the grocery store and my infusion set got caught on the cart and pulled off. Therefore, the slight high I had at dinner time could have been from that…or it could be the grapes I had at lunch. Not sure which.

Anyway, things seem to be going well with the diet.

I am a little worried I am becoming a bit of a hypochondriac, though. How do you know when you are overreacting to every new symptom and when the symptom might actually be something serious?

I’ve been having some swelling in my legs, hands, and under my eyes the last few weeks. I’m hoping its the heat…Texas heat can be unbearable sometimes. It’s not really that bad. There is some pitting early in the morning, but it goes away rather quickly.

Another thing to discuss with the new endo next month, I guess.

