Have you ever put your infusion set in a surprising, new place and discovered that your absorption….whatever, is so much better than those trusted places you have used forever?

When I first began researching insulin pumps more than a two years ago, I read a blog post by a woman who discovered that placing the infusion set in her breast worked really well both in relation to the insulin absorption rate and convenience as to where to wear her pump. So, the other day when my infusion set got pulled out of my belly and I got to looking and realized that all my favorite places for the set were in need of a rest, I thought I would try it.

It’s not really in my breast, per se, but just above the line of my bra. And, darned, if the thing isn’t working like I’ve never had an infusion set before. My numbers have been a dream–which, granted, could be because of the new diet–and I haven’t had any problems with catching it on grocery store carts or anything else.

Who would have known?

Anyway, the diet is going well. Still no sense of deprivation, but I guess it helps that I haven’t left the house in five days. My numbers are good, my energy level fairly normal. I have had some nausea, but nothing like before. And the unpleasant other effects of my stomach issues has been absent. The only curious thing I’ve noticed is my urination has increased quite a bit, but I guess that’s because I’m not as dehydrated as I was before.

So, knock on wood, everything seems to be going well.

The real test will be at the end of the month when my daughter and I go to Dallas to see One Direction in concert…..

