Have you ever had one of those days when you realize your kids are just so much more than you will ever be?

My granddaughter’s funeral was yesterday. After the funeral home screwed up and little Anna Christina arrived more than an hour late (which her parents thought was somewhat appropriate since they never get anywhere on time, but, of course, not so late) it began. My daughter-in-law has a master’s degree in music education. She sang a song that she had been singing to her belly throughout her pregnancy. And then my son said a prayer that was so selfless I am still reeling….

I am not a religious person. While I believe in God and a higher power, I do not believe in organized religion. My son and his wife are deeply religious. They have drawn a great deal of strength from their beliefs and their large circle of church friends.

I am so grateful they have something like that to turn to in this time of horrible grief.

They believe they will be reunited with their daughter.

I hope so.

Right now, I am humbled and awed by my own children. And selfishly relieved that I can still hold them and talk to them and be a part of their lives….

