So, I’m going to tell on myself.

Last week and part of this week, my sugars have been sky high. I did everything I could think of, short of changing my infusion set (which I have precious few of and am pretty sure I won’t be able to restock any time soon), to fix the problem. I adjusted my basals, I raised my bolus ratios, I took corrections doses like they were tic tacs….nothing worked. And then, at five o’clock in the morning, I changed my cartridge and infusion set because it was time. I used a new vial of insulin because the old one had run out. And, viola!, it worked. My blood sugars were in range once more.

And then it hit me. The insulin I was using when my sugars were high? It was the same vial I forgot was in my purse when I first locked it in the car during my granddaughter’s funeral and later when my daughter and I attended her ‘once in a lifetime’ concert in Dallas….Gee, I wonder if the heat might have had something to do with it? I do live in Texas, after all….

Sometimes those brain farts aren’t just restricted to where the car keys are and whether or not I remembered to bolus before that meal…..or snack.

