I realized the other day that I haven’t posted about my diet lately. No, I haven’t quit. Quite the opposite. Things are still going really well.

I have discovered that now that I have cut all meat out of my diet that the idea of eating meat just kind of grosses me out. My husband made fried chicken the other day and I just couldn’t…and fried chicken was once my favorite. I had a salad instead and didn’t feel even the littlest bit left out. That’s a new change for me, too.

I’m glad I’ve been able to stick to my diet. I’m a little disappointed that it hasn’t resulted in any significant weight changes. In fact, I’ve recently gained ten pounds and have no clue why…I eat salads, beans, and grains most days. The joys of injecting over 100 units of insulin a day, I guess.

(No, I don’t eat pasta every day. In fact, I’ve only had pasta twice in the past two weeks.)

There also hasn’t been a significant change in my gastro symptoms. Discovering my sensitivity to cheese has helped…but there are still those lingering symptoms. Also doesn’t help that my entire family came down with a stomach bug a little more than a week ago. Hard to pinpoint the difference between virus and something else when those things go on.

So…its been an eventful few months. My granddaughter…now my son and daughter-in-law have moved closer to us, but we still don’t see them often. Everyone is so busy with their own lives. And, just as I was beginning to put my brain power toward Christmas, we get our property tax bill (expected, but hoping for a little smaller bill)…when it rains, it pours.

Anyone want to buy a four bedroom house in the middle of nowhere?

Anyway. Life isn’t that bad, I guess. Still have my gorgeous daughter to make me laugh, and my amazing son to give me hugs. That kind of makes all the struggles well worth it….

Halloween 2009…(that’s my daughter as a zombie princess, my middle son-who is a huge fan of video games and horror movies-and, of course, the baby of the family…they grow up so fast!)

HPIM1148

