It’s been a while since I posted on here. Sorry…

I hope everyone had a wonderful holiday season. I know the holidays can be quite challenging to those of us dealing with this lovely condition…I think my biggest challenge–next to the financial challenge of buying presents for everyone!–was meat. I have been eating vegan since late July, early August. Although I occasionally have meat when we eat out–and I had turkey on Thanksgiving, because, what is Thanksgiving without turkey?–I try to stick to a low fat, meatless, mostly dairy-free diet. But I ate meat on 7 out of 18 days…its hard to avoid certain foods on the holidays. Partially, because meat is a staple of the holiday meal and partly because there are those in the family who have certain expectations and its hard to let them down. But I fully intend to get back on the wagon now that the holidays are over…my stomach and all its unusual problems will surely appreciate it!

Since the last time i posted, this happened:

20141120_072336(1)

I don’t know how well you can see it, but that knobby end of the infusion tube is supposed to stick into the insertion set, but it somehow managed to fall out. I’ve never had that happen before. But I guess if it can break, it will….

Speaking of which, today I will stop using the insulin pump.

For those of you who are not aware, my family lost our house when the school district bought it to expand the school campus. We moved 150 miles from our hometown and, in doing so, we got a completely paid off house, but my husband had to take a huge cut in pay–he essentially works for the insurance. So, I was unable to pay the deductible on my infusion sets and will no longer be able to order new ones. Until I can figure out how to come up with the money, or find other means of getting the infusion sets, I will have to return to MDI.

I was pretty upset by the idea at first. But now…I have to admit that both methods are quite time consuming and can be intrusive. The pump is less so as it does all the important calculations for me, so less thought goes into bolusing. But the pump can often get in the way–ie, doorknobs that reach out and grab you or dresses without pockets that pose a function problem–and rolling over at night to get smacked in the face with a pump attached to the front of a loose fitting nightgown is never fun.

I’ll miss my pump. I think it improved my diabetes control. But, perhaps, getting back into MDI will force me to pay more attention to my diabetes care, my diet, and my basic daily routines. And, hopefully, it’s only for a short time.

Anyway…I went to the doctor a few weeks ago and got all my blood work done. Most everything came back well. My overall cholesterol was 160, which made me extremely happy. But my triglycerides were high and I could improve my HDL a little…my A1C was a little higher than I like, but better than it had been, so that’s a good thing. My thyroid was really low, too, which could explain my recent bout of burnout and desire to sleep ninety percent of the day away.

The only thing that really concerned me about my blood tests–and something the doctor failed to comment on–was my GFR. It was 79. Not extremely low, but a little low–and considered stage 2 kidney failure on some websites (the Internet is a wonderful thing for hypochondriacs, isn’t it?)–not something to panic about, but something to keep in mind. I think the doctor failed to comment because there was no protein in my urine and my blood proteins were all low. I’m wondering if that’s because of my diet? Not sure, but something to discuss with my new endo when I see her in April.

So, that’s all the news that’s fit to print. Looking forward to the Diabetes Un-Conference in March. For those of you who don’t know, it’s this conference in which diabetics are encouraged to meet and learn from their peers. I’ve never been to any kind of diabetes conference before, so this should prove to be interesting. A good way to start, maybe?

We’ll see….

